Marketing, exposure and online shopping

So, now that we have the website up, Divine Debris, again, I was thinking about how to get the word out. I’ve got the blog here, a Facebook page, Tumblr and talked about it a bit on Ravelry… but I was wondering what else I could do.

Do any of you have a Etsy or something account? I was wondering if setting up one and posting a couple items and then linking to my website would be a good idea. I’ve checked their terms and such and all it says is that you can’t post something there and then redirect them to another page to bypass their fees.

Although the website hasn’t been up very long, I’m for it anxious to do well. You know what I mean?

Just a reminder: Wednesday I will be drawing the winner of the free earrings giveaway, conducted through my Facebook page. And free shipping on the website through 6/24.

9 thoughts on “Marketing, exposure and online shopping

  1. Hi there!
    I’m planning on opening an Etsy shop soon, so I understand how you feel. A few tips I’ve gotten from others that have online shops is to take advantage of your local area, such as making flyers, handing out business cards, or even having a few samples at a garage sale table.
    Hope this helps you out, best of luck to you!

  2. Hey, I’ve got an Etsy shop, so I know a little about how it works 🙂
    You get the most exposure on there if you’re a really active member, with lots of items for sale, activity on the forums etc. So just posting a few items there and somehow redirecting to your own website won’t really do much good. Don’t waste your energy that way, but instead go to craft markets etc. And consider ordering business cards from MOO – they can print a different photo on every card, so then you can show off all your designs.

    Good luck!

    • Thank you! That was exactly the advice I was hoping to get, a yes or a no on Etsy. I have a friend who asked if I was still going to get an Etsy although I have my own website now. I was really unsure if Etsy could get me more exposure, but now I’m just going to write it off entirely. Tomorrow I’m going to get the business card rolling and read up on local craft shops and fairs and such. Thank you so much for the advice!

  3. Even some local ‘Farmer’s Market’s’ include crafters. The Vendor fee may be a bit pricey for selling items that are in your price range…unless you can co-op on a booth with another crafter. I used to sell handmade dolls, doll clothes and baby clothes and blankets at a Farmer’s Market and shared the booth with another crafter. Even if I didn’t sell an item at the Market…I did get orders for custom items…by handing out my card. You might want to ask friends and family if they have bulletins or a place where they could place your business card in their break room…or any other place that they could network for you.

    • Ooh, that’s a fantastic idea! I’ve been meaning to make business cards, can’t decide if I should make them at home or order some off the internet. I know there are some websites that offer printing services with good rates. Thank you for responding, I’ve got to harass family members for business now. 😀

  4. I can’t really advise on this – sorry. All I wold say is do not spread yourself too thinly. You can always add things later if you need a bit of a boost. Are you really making use of Twitter? I find this more useful than FB but then that may just be me! Doing prize givaways to get followers will increase your exposure quickly:) Good luck.

    • I’ve tried to use Twitter but I just can’t get it going. I’m not so good on Twitter with my regular profile, only have 8 followers right now and I’m trying to pick it up. Following people, responding and updating often, just doesn’t seem to work. HA. It’s funny that I’ve never been good at social-networking and now I need to get good, soonish. 🙂

      • I found that retweeting things that one of my follower has retweeted from someone else (are you still with me?) has worked. As has finding a site called craftbloguk – this opens up a lot of new exposure. I am sure that the you have something similar in the US.

Leave a Reply

