Say “hi” to Charlie!

So, this is one of my newest designs. At first I had a difficult time naming it, until a friend of mine commented on the Instragram photo that it should be Charlie, from the chevron design, after Charlie Brown. For me, that worked, as Charlie can also be a girls name… and I love girls with

Me, wearing my first Charlie scarf color scheme.
Me, wearing my first Charlie scarf color scheme. Please don’t laugh at my use of my tablet to take a picture, it was for Instagram. 😀

traditionally male names, because in my opinion there should be no specific girl or boy names, but that’s just me. I will not lecture… no I will not!

Charlie in blues
Charlie in blues

Anyway, I’m currently testing this pattern for public release and I’m at my wits end so I wanted to ask you, my friends, something. I like to try out new testers, for new eyes to see my patterns, perhaps they can catch mistakes others may miss. However, I took on someone I didn’t know who follows my FB page, and since the first week she hasn’t responded to my e-mails. I don’t know what to do, other than never take her on as a tester. I’m very sad by this turn of events, although it’s not the first time I’ve had a tester disappear on me. Perhaps I should look to Ravelry’s tester forums for testers.

Have any of you knitters or crocheters out there encountered this? What did you do? I’m just left a little sad because I try to think the best of people, but I worked hard to design a scarf and now this person has my pdf and who knows, may try to publish it as her own. *sigh*

Hopefully I’ll be able to release the pattern soon.  I’ve also got testers working on my Emily scarf pattern,

Emily in navy, plum and grey
Emily in navy, plum and grey

so that will be on the website soon.  If you would like to test for me, I ask every so often on FB. I’m working on a new design, the Angela, that I will be looking for testers for.

 

Oh, in other news, I’m doing better. I know the last time I posted an update I talked a bit about how I was having a few issues adjusting to my new living arrangements. Talk to my mother and trying to be more active with crafts and daily yoga have been working wonders for me. I’ve been making it a weekly routine to go shopping at my local farmers market, which may seem silly to others, but it forces me to get out of the house and experience something different, no matter how scary. Sometimes, outside the house is scary.

4 thoughts on “Say “hi” to Charlie!

  1. I love your Charlie 🙂
    And the name is definitely appropriate.
    Thank you so much for brushing by my blog and leaving such a sweet comment. That way I wasable to come here and discover your wonderful world! I als o added your FB page on my interest list and will keep following your work which is amazing!
    So sorry to hear about the tester!

  2. I love your Charlie design, it must be because I have a very special place in my heart for the name Charlie (my Dad’s name was Charles and my Great Niece who is now 1 is named Charlie after my Dad). Thanks for sharing your wonderful creations with all of us. Sorry to hear about the pattern tester. I’m sorry I can’t offer any advice; except to just keep on crocheting and creating wonderful designs to share with the world. Hugs, Tamara

Leave a Reply

