Personalized Mug Cozies

Make your own personalized mug cozy
Make your own personalized mug cozy

Ok, so last year I posted about wanting to create mug coziesΒ and that went well, in fact I make quite a few of my own and sold some too. πŸ™‚

And about two months, maybe more, a friend of mine found a cup on the internet, Harry Potter themed, and I tried to think about how to make that into a mug cozy.

That’s the image here, on the left, called “Always.” What do you guys think? If you tear up, yeah, I get that. I also got a special order for a “I *heart* hobbits” mug, where she wanted lots of fun greens for the cozy.

Always mug cozy by Divine Debris
Always mug cozy by Divine Debris
I *heart* hobbits mug cozy by Divine Debris
I *heart* hobbits mug cozy by Divine Debris

So, I was thinking about making a post on how to do this yourself, because it’s insanely easy and fun.

Materials:

-Yarn, to make into a cozy of your choice

-a button, to make it so that the cozy closes around the mug

-a sheet of felt, whatever color you would like. I’ve only ever used white, but other colors would work I’m sure.

-Puffy paint. That’s what I used to create the words

Directions:

Decide what you want to write and how big you want it to be. I did this by making the cozy first, laying it flat and placing the sheet of felt over it. You can map out what you want to write, I don’t because I’m not good at following my own hand and it’s hard to wash marks off after the fact. Or at least it was for me.

Felt, mug cozy and yarn/ needle
Felt, mug cozy and yarn/ needle

When writing with the puffy paint make sure to tap the point, cap still on, on something hard to eliminate air bubbles at the top before you begin. Nothing sucks more than to get something looking nice and have the paint spurt and mess it up. For more help on puffy paint, Google is your friend.

Felt attached to mug cozy with yarn
Felt attached to mug cozy with yarn

Let the paint dry completely before you move on. Cut out the shape you want the felt to be in when it’s attached to the cozy. I have stuck with mostly square shapes but you could totally be more creative than I am.

Take your yarn needle and yarn, or you could do this with embroidery thread and a regular needle, and weave up and own so that felt piece is attached to the cozy.

It’s just that easy!

The love as you wilt saying is from Jacqueline Carey‘s Kushiel’s Legacy series.
Just a few more finished product images:

Love as thou wilt cozy by Divine Debris
Love as thou wilt cozy by Divine Debris
Love as thou wilt cozy by Divine Debris (side view)
Love as thou wilt cozy by Divine Debris (side view)
I *heart* books cozy by Divine Debris
I *heart* books cozy by Divine Debris

I’ve only done words for the most part Β on the felt but I’d like to get more creative in the future. If you do your own version, post a link here and I’ll update it on this page. I’d love to see the creativity!

4 thoughts on “Personalized Mug Cozies

Leave a Reply

