Willow hat 2.0

I like the Willow line, which is obvious because I keep adding to it. I just think that the

Willow Hat 2.0, a free crochet pattern by Divine Debris
Willow Hat 2.0, a free crochet pattern by Divine Debris

alternating spike sc and sc can add a lot to a pattern without making it overly complicated. However, to make things a bit more complicated, this new Willow hat features a triangle accent piece. Would you call it a triangle? That’s what I have it labeled as in the pattern but it seems wrong some how. I don’t know, I think triangle works though. Sorry, thinkin’ out loud. 😀

Anyway, I’m updating to introduce you to the newest member of the Willow collection, the Willow Hat pattern 2.0. It’s 2.0 because I have the previous Willow hat, which I love and think looks adorable, but I wanted something a bit sassier. Sure, there’s the Willow Sack Hat but that’s not quite what I was in the mood for the day I made this hat. Actually, I was going to originally call 2.0 the Sassy Willow Hat pattern but because I think the hat itself is unisex, I didn’t want to alienate men from wearing it. Not that I think all men wouldn’t want a hat called “sassy” but I think it might discourage some people from it. I don’t know.

In the end I think that hat is adorable and fun. I’ve already gotten a commission for one, in black with orange and gray.

WillowHat 2.0 in black by Divine Debris
WillowHat 2.0 in black by Divine Debris

I think it turned out pretty nice, even if black yarn makes me nervous because it shows every fuzz and bit of dust that you’ve had near in ever. *sigh*

Anyway for this pattern you will need 3.5 oz, all together, of yarn, with small pieces of two different contrasting colors, and a US I crochet hook.

You can access the pattern on my website, either reading it off the page or downloading your own pdf file. Please, do not hesitate to let me know if you see anything wrong with the pattern either here, at info@divinedebris.com or on my Facebook page.

You can add the pattern to your Ravelry queue here and pin it for later, here.

The next addition to the Willow collection will be the boot cuffs. I’ve got the pattern nearly

Willow boot cuffs by Divine Debris
Willow boot cuffs by Divine Debris

finished, I just need to be sure the sizing is correct. The alternating sc and spike sc make the upper part larger than it was in my Eva boot cuffs and it’s proving to be a bit of a pain in my neck. However, as you can see in the picture to the right, the look is quite nice. I did this pair in Loops and Threads Impeccable in gold, teal and soft taupe. I think if you wanted you could do 5 different colors or add another two rows to the top in the first color. 🙂 I love to encourage people to experiment with my patterns.

Until next time, have a good week(s)/weekend(s). I’ve got tons to do in my non-crochet life, like paint bedrooms and clean the house, before people come to visit toward the end of this month. Oh, I’m tired at the thought of all that. 😀

You can find this post linked on Hookin’ on Hump Day by Moogly and Petals to Picots.

3 thoughts on “Willow hat 2.0

Leave a Reply

