Eggciting! Eggcellent! Easter Egg update.


Crochet Easter eggs by Divine Debris
Crochet Easter eggs by Divine Debris

Hello! How’s your Spring going so far? Or, are you having a Spring? Where I live it went

from being 30-40 degrees a week ago to this week we’re getting 70-80 degree weather. Whoa! That’s whiplash fast, in my opinion. I am not ready for it to be 70 degrees when I wake up in the morning. Not working for me, I needed a Spring, it was a long winter. Ugh!

So I was looking at my Easter egg earring pattern I posted last year and noticed… it wasn’t good. Well, it wasn’t bad but I need to clean up the pattern and make sure it reads better. In fact, I decided to update the pattern and even make a new egg.
For either of these projects you will need four colors of Worsted Weight yarn and a US G (4.25MM) crochet hook.

For the applique:

(First color)Row 1: Ch 8, sc into second ch from the hook and across (7 scs)

Crochet Easter egg applique by Divine Debris
Crochet Easter egg applique by Divine Debris

(First color)Row 2: turn, ch 2, sc twice into the first st, sc across, sc twice into the last st (9 scs)
(Second color)Row 3: turn, ch 2, sc twice into the first st, sc across, sc twice into the last st (11 scs)
(Third color)Row 4: turn, ch 2, skip st, dc into next st, *ch 1, dc2tog w/ first leg(dc) of the st in the same st as the last dc then skip a st and place the next leg (dc) into the next st, * repeat from * to * 3 more times, ch 1, dc into last st (4 dc2tog, 2 dc)
(Fourth color)Row 5: turn, ch 1, sc across (11 scs)
(Fourth color)Row 6: turn, ch 1, sc2tog into the first 2 sts, sc across, sc2tog into the last 2 sts (9 scs)
(First color) Row 7: turn, ch 1, sc2tog into the first 2 sts, sc across, sc2tog into the last 2 sts (7 scs)
(Second color)Row 8: turn, ch 2, skip st, dc into next st, *ch 1, dc2tog w/ first leg(dc) of the st in the same st as the last dc then skip a st and place the next leg (dc) into the next st, * repeat from * to * 1 more time, ch 1, dc into last st (2 dc2tog, 2 dc)
(Third color)Row 9: turn, ch 1, sc across (7 scs)
(Third color)Row 10: turn, ch 1, sc2tog into the first 2 sts, sc across, sc2tog into the last 2 sts (5 scs)
(Fourth color)Row 11: turn, ch 1, sc2tog into the first 2 sts, sc across, sc2tog into the last 2 sts ( 3 scs)

Now I fasten off after row 11 but if you would like, you could go another row and just sc across. This will make the top appear more finished.

Crochet Easter egg by Divine Debris
Crochet Easter egg by Divine Debris

To get this pattern visit DivineDebris.com

3 thoughts on “Eggciting! Eggcellent! Easter Egg update.

  1. Wow, these eggs are way too cute!!! 🙂 Makes me wanna knit 🙂 (or maybe it’s easier to just ask my mom to do it… 😉 )

Leave a comment