Starting something new

Free orange crochet ring pattern by Divine Debris
Orange crochet ring pattern by Divine Debris

So a couple of weeks ago I was talking with a friend about what to do with the bright orange crochet thread we both have bought. I used mine to make my pumpkin ring and earrings but I honestly really haven’t had much call for it since Halloween / the Fall ended. However, as I was telling my friend, as I laid in bed listening to my husband snore ( it’s not a secret although he might not care for me to share it with the internet) I had an idea about how to use the orange thread before Halloween rolled back around. Citrus fruit! Specifically, make items that look like slices of an orange. Wouldn’t that be super cute? I thought so as I tried to fall asleep and I hoped I would remember when I woke up in the morning.

I did and the first thing I decided to experiment with is making another crochet ring. As you know I do love making crochet rings, I’ve made a Willow version, a Brittany and a heart in addition to my pumpkin ring mentioned earlier,  so this was very natural and simple to think of.  To make one of your own you’re going to need orange size 10 crochet thread, white size 10 crochet thread, a 2.25 mm crochet hook, and a needle that is big enough for you to weave the thread with. You may also want another color for the band for your ring, I used green this time in a departure from my heart and pumpkin rings.
Before you begin you might want to jump over and look at Needle Noodles’ tutorial on how to change colors in the round without making it look all icky. I must admit I’m not great at changing colors in the round and not making it look terrible, but this tutorial has helped a lot.

For the band I crocheted 25 sts and slip stitched the last st into the first to create a ring:

Orange crochet ring pattern by Divine Debris
Orange crochet ring pattern by Divine Debris

Rows 1 – 4 or 5: (you can make the band as tall as you would like) ch 1, sc into each st around, slip st into the beginning sc to secure – 25 scs
For the orange:
Row 1: Create a magic circle: ch 1, sc six times into the circle, slip st into the first sc to secure- 6 scs
Row 2: Ch 1, sc twice into the same st as join and into each st around, slip st into the first sc to secure – 12 scs
Row 3: Ch 1, sc twice into the same st as join, sc into the next st, *sc twice into the next st, sc twice into the next st,* repeat from * to * until the end of the row, slip st into the first sc to secure – 18 scs
Change to white thread: Row 4: Ch 1, sc twice into the same st as join, sc once into the next 2 sts, *sc twice into the next st, sc once into the next 2 sts,* repeat from * to * the rest of the way around, slip st into the first sc to secure – 24 scs (fasten off with this color)
Change to orange thread: Row 5: Ch 1, sc once into the same st as join and into the next 2 sts, sc twice into the next st, * sc into the next 3 sts, sc twice into the next st,* repeat from * to * the rest of the way around, slip st into the first sc to secure – 30 scs (fasten off with this color)Orange crochet ring pattern by Divine Debris
*Note: You could just do a sc row around row 5 if you would like, this will make your final product look more round but it might make the edges curl a bit. Your choice.

Details:

I didn’t measure the white piece of thread I used before I addedOrange crochet ring pattern by Divine Debris the details on the ring, however I would say it’s was about 3″ – 4″, it’s better to have it too long than to have it too short. To create

the orange sections, so to speak, you want to start on the back side (the opposite side of the one that has been facing you as you’ve created your orange), bring your threaded needle through the first sc from the seam on row 3, then go through the center of the of the magic Orange crochet ring pattern by Divine Debriscircle, skip 2 sts on row 3 and draw your needle through the next st on row 3 and then through the center of the magic circle again. You’re going to

continue this pattern the rest of the way around your orange. You are going to want to pull the thread tight enough that it doesn’t sag but not so tight that it distorts your orange. Don’t Orange crochet ring pattern by Divine Debrisworry about them

moving because when you weave in the end from the magic circle it will hold the thread pieces in place in the center. When you get all the way around your orange you will come back through the same stitch you began in, the first one of row 3. Weave in your ends following this.

To secure the orange to the band I just used Fabri-Tac but you can sew them or use a glue you’re sure won’t change the color of the thread- I’ve had super glue change thread color before so I wouldn’t recommend it here.

So, tada! There you go. I hope you like this little ring. I’ve got a couple more citrus based ideas that I’m going to work up in the future and get back to you. You can add this pattern to your Ravelry queue/favorites here or Pin it here.

As always, take care and I will chat at you another day.

You can find this post linked up to Oombawka Design’s Link and Share Wednesday and Moogly and Petals to Picots Hookin’ on Hump Day.

3 thoughts on “Starting something new

Leave a comment